The National Science and Maths Quiz Since 1993 – 2023; Winners & Losers


The National Science and Maths Quiz (NSMQ) is an annual science and mathematics content-based national level quiz competition for senior high schools in Ghana.

It has been produced by Primetime Limited, an education-interest advertising and public relations agency, since 1993.

The objective of the NSMQ is to promote the study of the sciences and mathematics, help students develop quick thinking and a probing and scientific mind about the everyday world around them, while fostering healthy academic rivalry among senior high schools.

The NSMQ is the longest running educational programme on Ghanaian television. It is broadcast on GTV during the quiz season every Saturday at 11am and Wednesdays at 4pm.

The idea for the quiz programme came from a tennis game conversation between Kwaku Mensa-Bonsu, then managing director of Primetime, and the late Professors Marian Ewurama Addy and Ebenezer Kweku Awotwe in 1993.

When the quiz started, it involved only 32 schools across the country, divided into the Northern Sector and Southern Sector, with 16 schools per sector.

Winners in both sectors were then brought to Accra for the national championship. Prempeh College won the maiden edition.

In 1997, the geographical sector system was abandoned, and two northern sector schools (from the old format), Opoku Ware School and Prempeh College made it to the finals where Opoku Ware School won its first trophy.

In 1998, the tournament became known as the National Science & Maths Quiz, when the quiz show lost its original sponsorship from Brillant Soap.

Subsequently, in 2012, the Ghana Education Service, through the Conference of Heads of Assisted Secondary Schools (CHASS) took up the sponsorship of the programme.

In terms of participation, beginning in 2000, the number of schools was increased to 40. The number of participating schools again, was increased in 2013 to 81, although 66 ultimately showed up for the competition.

The NSMQ plays a crucial role in fostering interest and passion for science and mathematics among Ghanaian students. It also identifies and nurtures talented students in these subjects, promotes academic excellence and healthy competition, encourages collaboration and teamwork, boosts confidence and self-esteem, and enhances national development and competitiveness.


Presec Legon 2023 NSMQ Champions

Presec Legon is one of the most successful schools in the history of the NSMQ. They have won the trophy eight times (1995, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2020, 2022, and 2023), making them the record holders of the most wins. They are also the only school to have won back-to-back titles twice (2008-2009 and 2022-2023).

Presec Legon’s latest victory was on October 30, 2023, when they defeated Achimota School and Opoku Ware School with a remarkable score of 40 points in a highly competitive final held at Achimota School.

Leave a Reply